27
Jan
10

The Ride of a Lifetime

The pains started Monday night.  I was asleep and I had to get up thinking I needed to use the bathroom.  Blearily, I struggled out of bed and tried to obey the pain’s demands but it didn’t work.  So I went back to bed thinking if I laid down again it would go away.  Or if I went back to sleep then maybe I could sleep through it.

Ten minutes later I was up and in the bathroom again.  Again, no joy.  I had the presence of mind to poke Mike and say I didn’t feel very well, but that’s as far as my thought processes went.  I fell back into my pillow and didn’t think about it again.

Until ten minutes later when it woke me up again.  Dayum, I thought, shifting position.  Mike, having been roused by my earlier poke, was the one who suggested maybe I should time the pain.  It hadn’t even occurred to me.  Holy shit, was I in labor?  I timed.  I realized that yes, the pain went away and came back regularly.  Dude, I was having contractions.  After two, three, then four times when Mike told me to time just one more and then we’d see where we stood, and each successive one was between six and eight minutes, I finally said, “I’m not your fucking snooze button.  Get out of bed and call your mother.”

That was six years ago yesterday.  After thirteen hours of labor, our son made his first appearance into the world.  Today is my son’s sixth birthday.  He’s come a long way from the cone-headed baby to the chatty curious boy he is now, the one who throws his arms around me with abandon and says, “I love you, Mommy,” with the heart-meltingest smile on his face.

Happy Birthday, boy.  I can’t wait to see how you blossom in the next year.


10 Responses to “The Ride of a Lifetime”


  1. January.27.2010 at 12:32 PM

    I hope he has a really great birthday!

  2. January.27.2010 at 1:07 PM

    Isn’t it funny how you can remember the tiniest details about your labor and delivery, but the actual feeling of the pain has faded from memory, being replaced by the details?
    After giving birth to 6 children I can still only say-it hurt… but the actual sensation of the pain has receded from my memory… until I have chest pain.
    (I have a condition that causes frequent pain like a heart attack only the doctor says it’s not- oh goody) Which I think is pretty close to the labor pains I had, or maybe it’s different. I can’t remember.

  3. January.27.2010 at 1:10 PM

    Awwwwwe. Like you I had NO CLUE I was in labor. Just very uncomfortable cramps and needing to pee every 5 minutes or so.
    :)

  4. 4 Jen
    January.27.2010 at 8:25 PM

    Happy Birthday Sassmouth!

  5. January.28.2010 at 12:23 PM

    Happy Birthday Sassmouth!!! He is a beautiful boy Andrea!

  6. January.30.2010 at 9:10 PM

    haha! Snooze button.

    Too stinkin cute for his own good, that one.

  7. February.1.2010 at 10:06 PM

    Great story! Darling pictures.
    Makes me want to do one of these for our youngest. Of course I didn’t do the birthing but I was in the room. Ring side seat counts right?

    Thanks for sharing.

  8. February.5.2010 at 11:35 AM

    It’s amazing, watching your kids grow up. I feel so connected to them, even thought we’ve never gotten to meet each other’s littles. Someday.

    Happy birthday, little man!

  9. February.10.2010 at 3:39 PM

    He is so adorable

  10. March.2.2010 at 2:50 PM

    He is so cute! I love little boys. Happy very belated birthday.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Save Calypso Fund

Please Help me save my dog

Archives

Pick a Day, Any Day

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Where It’s At

Shopping Spree!

The Loopy Ewe

Blog Stats

  • 6,457 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

