10
May
10

I’m Not Even Going To Offer An Excuse for My Blog Absence This Time, Frakking April

So I woke up one day last week and decided my life needs something.  I’m missing something, a je ne sais quoi, a joi de vivre that defies me at every turn.  I’ve undertaken a quest, if you will, to find that elusive thing I’m missing.  It has so many names, but it boils down to one: happiness.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m pretty happy most of the time, but in a self-deprecating way.  I’m more inclined to make fun of myself for my inabilities and if I’ve learned anything from reading Linda’s blog it’s that I should be asking myself why I immediately jump to the conclusion that I can’t/won’t/shouldn’t do something.

I’ve spoken about this a bit on the fitness website I contribute to, My 15 Minutes to Better Fitness that I have special circumstances regarding an old injury that I have to consider when working out.  (If you’re interested in it, it’s under the Andrea Wrote This category.) I’m bound and determined to be a runner, but after going well for a couple weeks, my bum foot would swell to the point where I nearly couldn’t wear shoes, so I’d rest it.  It’d shrink and I’d feel good again, start running again, and boom. Balloon foot.  After three times of this, frustration and bitching to my husband about how I just wanted to run for crying out loud, he very gently (yes, gently, there will be no Mike-bashing today, but stay tuned. I make no promises that I won’t make fun of him in some capacity in the future.) suggested that perhaps if I lost some weight before trying to run that the impact to my bad foot would be less and therefore my foot might be able to handle it if I weigh, say, 150 instead of 210.  He has a point.

So I’ve been researching things to do that have low impact so I can sustain a workout that won’t kill my foot to the point where I have to stop.  I’m playing it by ear, but so far have tried yoga, elliptical machines, and weight machines. When the pools open, perhaps I’ll finally learn to swim (I can only doggy paddle, and drink heavily while floating happily on a noodle) and do some of that.  I have an exercise ball I’m going to blow up tonight.  I may swipe the husband’s bike and go on a ride.

Thing is, I need to believe in myself.  I’ve done some pretty cool things in my life.  I’ve published a poem.  I’ve won writing contests.  I’ve learned to play piano pretty well.  I was a kick ass catcher on a softball team in my teen years, until I blew out a knee.  But all that stuff was done when I was a teenager.  Yes, I was published as a teenager, and by a publishing house, not by a blog software program.  But all my potential has stagnated and I have slothed around enough to get up over 200 pounds and lose all belief that there are awesome things I can do.

I need to prove it to myself again.  I need to believe.  So I’m giving it another go round.  This wouldn’t be possible without the assistance of the Babysitter of Awesome that we now take Daughter, from here on our referred to Renuzit as a result of a shocking and clandestine few minutes left alone in the bathroom, to for our workdays.  This Babysitter of Awesome has earned herself TWO pair of handknit socks in just the two months she’s been watching Renuzit, one for volunteering to take on my stomach bug ridden daughter because four of her six biological children (yes, I said six) also had it.  She took Renuzit so that I wouldn’t miss any more work with the sicknesses.  The second pair comes from our agreement to drop Renuzit off an hour earlier so I can work out before work.  I love her.

I don’t have any pictures for you today.  Maybe if I can get this ball rolling, I will have the nerve to post some before and after pictures when I have some progress to show.  But for now, just my talking about it will have to do.

I’m going after it, that elusive belief in myself, that I can do something other than slut around on the couch with my knitting and the TV.


5 Responses to “I’m Not Even Going To Offer An Excuse for My Blog Absence This Time, Frakking April”


  1. May.10.2010 at 9:47 AM

    You can do it! I did it twice (thank you, tendency to blow up during pregnancy). You will amaze yourself, promise. Out of desperation, I joined Weight Watchers online…no meetings for me. Dropped 80 the first time, then close to 100 the second. I just had to tap into my anger at myself. Using WW helped me develop a sense of healthy portions, and after some time, I could count points without the software. Also, Cooking Light has great recipes that aren’t diet-tasting.

    It’s really hard…but you can do it!

  2. 2 JChevais
    May.11.2010 at 7:42 AM

    You can do this. You are setting yourself up for success! Babysitter managed, supporting husband, the works. You’re an inspiration (for someone like me who sluts around in front of telly (during the day!) who shld be doing other things (finishing a commission (my ‘client’ is a good friend but still), working on corr course)). I too will need to figure out a plan for sloughing off the pregnancy weight (which I fear may be close to 20 kg. I don’t want to buy a scale but I shld). Ouf!

    You will be running before you know it! I’m going to have trouble keeping up with you then!

  3. May.12.2010 at 10:34 AM

    You are one hardcore shutterbitch. Rock on, dude.

  4. May.12.2010 at 12:37 PM

    One of my favorite quotes is this one from Yoda (yeah, I know…) “There’s no try, there’s only do or die.” You DO believe in yourself. You ARE making changes. It’s great to see you back writing. You’re inspiring us all!

  5. May.19.2010 at 4:02 PM

    Hey! It’s been awhile since I commented and I’m sorry I lost touch! But I just wanted to share with you I know exactly how you feel. I was so stagnate and finally I got in the right mind set to start working out…never really had. Joined the gym and then ponyed up the dough to hire a personal trainer for 6 weeks. Wow what a difference! I go everyday at lunch, I meet with him once a week we go over my plan for the week and then he teaches me new excercises and weight training without killing me. I feel the need to go, the desire to go and even though I have only dropped 5 pounds in the last 3 weeks, my clothes fit better. Your doing great you can do this!!!


Comments are currently closed.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Save Calypso Fund

Please Help me save my dog

Archives

Pick a Day, Any Day

May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Where It’s At

Shopping Spree!

The Loopy Ewe

Blog Stats

  • 6,469 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

