30
Jun
10

Save Calypso

My dog has an allergic condition. Her treatment will be a minimum of $600, most of it up front. I can’t afford it and so my only other option is to euthanize her. No shelter will take her with a medical condition and finding a family willing to take on her expenses will be next to impossible. I can’t euthanize her. I can’t do it. She’s only TWO, people.

In better times

Her treatment begins at $600, and goes on every year for life.  At least half is required up front to get her a test to show which allergies she has and create a custom twice-yearly vaccination for her.  It could take up to 3 months for that to even be ready to administer.  So we’re looking at another $300+ in temporary meds to quiet her allergy reaction to get her to the point where we can even begin to treat her.  I don’t have it, not with two kids in daycare for the summer. And I can’t stand to watch her suffer, scratching herself bald and bleeding until school starts again. Believe me, we’ve tried EVERYTHING. Diet, prescriptions, prescription foods, supplements, shampoos, you name it.  The only thing that has worked so far has been $150 a month in medicines that aren’t sustainable for her whole life, even if we could afford that amount.  Seriously, we’ve spent close to a grand trying to find a way to help her. This custom vaccine is our last hope.

So I’m doing something I’m very uncomfortable with. I’m asking for help.

Help Me Save My Dog

This goes to my Paypal account.  If donations reach more than we need, I’ll take the extra and donate it to a local animal charity or the humane society in my area. The internet can be a scary place, but it can also be a wonderful place, and I wouldn’t hesitate to help out someone in whatever way I could. Unfortunately, me and my dog are the ones that need help now.

7 Responses to “Save Calypso”


  1. June.30.2010 at 9:59 AM

    I know how heartbreaking unexpected vet bills are… and they only come when you really can’t afford them! Please accept my $25 and give that puppy a hug from me!

  2. June.30.2010 at 10:45 AM

    I was hoping you’d put up a request for donations!!! Give Calypso a pet from me!

  3. 3 Sharon
    June.30.2010 at 12:00 PM

    You might check with the Humane Society. I believe they charge on a sliding scale for vet services. Also, if you’re forced to give her up, check with the St. Charles shelter or APA. I believe both will not euthanize. Also check will local rescue services. Some have volunteers who will foster animals with permanent disabilities.

  4. June.30.2010 at 12:12 PM

    Thank you for the suggestions, but when I say we’ve tried it all, we’ve tried it all. Even no-kill shelters and foster homes are tightening their belts in the economy and not helping as many as they have in the past. Our vet knows all those services, and has been working with us as much as they can on this point, but it’s bleak. I would never resort to asking for this kind of help if I had no other choice.

  5. June.30.2010 at 2:01 PM

    I kind of know what you’re going through. We spend a little bit more than you a month on our dog, Charley, for a pancreatic condition he has. There is no cure. I just donated a little bit, it’s not a lot but hopefully it will add up with other donations. I found your blog via a RT by @JennRuss. BTW, have you checked out these sites on how to get assistance? There are organizations out there to help you with vet bills.

    http://www.aahahelpingpets.org/

    http://www.aspca.org/about-us/faq/financial-help-vet-bills.html

    All the best and I hope he gets better soon.

  6. 6 Jen
    June.30.2010 at 2:45 PM

    Sorry to hear about this, your puppy is about the same age as Molly our chocolate lab. She too has some kind of skin thing that only rears its head in the summer around July. I hope things get better. Giver her a big hug for me.

  7. July.6.2010 at 1:55 PM

    Your poor family! I know how that feels. I’m stretched pretty tight myself but if I can squeeze out a few bucks I’ll send some for your puppy.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Save Calypso Fund

Please Help me save my dog

Archives

Pick a Day, Any Day

June 2010
S M T W T F S
« May    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Where It’s At

Shopping Spree!

The Loopy Ewe

Blog Stats

  • 6,452 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

