27
May
09

Is This Thing On?

I am a new knitter.  Technically.  I learned how to knit half a washcloth when I was in 5th grade from the mother of a neighborhood friend.  That was the increase side.  I never learned how to do the decrease side and then they moved and I let it go.  My excuse is that I was ten.  People do dumb things when they were ten.  I don’t have an excuse why it took me another 20 or so years to pick it back up.  Waiting for my intelligence to catch up with me.  Waiting for there to be fifty million things for me to do so that I look longingly at my knitting and wish that I could sit and cuddle with it, then I grudgingly turn back to cleaning the house or making dinner, running after my 5 year old or my 16 month old or bathing the dog.  I’m married, and he’s awesome.  No, you can’t have him.  I need him to survive.  He cooks and actually likes to clean.  No, I will not take bribes.  Unless you just want me to loan him to you for cleaning purposes.  Then we can negotiate.

So last November, I thought, “Why don’t I knit my sister a Harry Potter scarf for Christmas?”  And I learned the phenomenon that is the Christmas Knitting Deadline.  It makes a neat whistling noise, right as it sails past your ear.  I shipped her scarf in the second week of January.  Not horrible for someone who hadn’t knit a stitch for two plus decades.  I’ve basically learned what I know from www.knittinghelp.com and YouTube.  I already have an embarrassing amount of yarn stash.  Well, maybe not embarrassing to anyone else who knits, but certainly to non-knitters who are astonished that I have yarn and don’t yet know what I am going to do with it.  I buy what I like, and the only problem with this is that sometimes I decide to make something that requires more than I have bought.  It’s a problem.  That requires me to buy more yarn.  Well, I don’t think it’s a problem, but my husband does.  He’s of the mind that there is such a thing as ‘enough yarn.’  He gave me one little cubby in our closet organizer to keep my yarn, and naively when I first started, I thought that’d be enough.  I have since wizened up, and have also taken over the area under the bed with plans to move into totes to put in our basement.  I have four babies on the way to knit for, a wedding blanket on the needles and some birthdays and stuff coming up.  I have way too many things on the needles right now, more than I ever did when I cross stitched.  I almost can’t cope, and the scary thing is that I have so much more I want to cast on.  Hats, scarves, more socks, socks, socks.  

Here are some facts about me.

I prefer circular needles for socks.  I’ve tried dpns but I can’t seem to keep straight all the needles, and they’re pokey, and well, I injure myself less with circs.  My faves are Addi Turbos.   

I am not a new blogger.  I have written a blog for going on 5 years now.  Just not the same blog.  I was first pigeonholed into the parenting blog category.  My second attempt was miserable, a retaliatory blog aimed at taking my ball and going home.  I’d been outed to my family on my first blog (well, I stupidly outed myself when I first started) and the judgment over what I wrote got to be overwhelming.  So I took my ball and went anonymous.  I don’t write there anymore and I won’t tell you where those blogs are now.  It’s not worth looking at anyway.  I didn’t think my established readers gave a shit and a half about the knitting stuff anyway and it seems that is more and more of what I’m doing with my time so there was a disconnect.

I’ve always liked to write.  Once, I had aspirations of being a published writer.  I even majored in English in college for the first two years.  Then a transfer, a new city and school, and a new major, and I ended up a desk jockey surrounded by engineers and heavy equipment.  Not real fun, but steady and stable.  And soul sucking.  My cubicle is my own personal Hell.  I used to like my job, and I could even tolerate the 2 hr a day commute.  Until my department hired someone I don’t get along with.  She’s crazy.  And rude.  And paranoid.  That’s why I call her The Crazy.  I can’t talk about it here, though.  At least, I’ll try not to.  I’m not a mean person, but everyone has someone that makes them feel like ground up hamburger meat at the end of the day and she’s my meat grinder.  I haven’t seen her for going on a week and a half now, with coinciding vacation schedules.  It’s been nice.

I’m on Ravelry.  If you want to add me to your friends, email me at shutupnclickATgmailDOTcom.  Since my name there contains my surname, I don’t want to give it out over the net. 

I am a mother, butt-wiper, crust-cutter-offer, cartoon-finder, wagon-pusher, and goldfish-cracker-supplier.  You could call me a drug dealer, too, though I get the crap end of that deal since none of my clients can pay for my wares.  I’m also a reader, pianist, photographer, writer, and professional learner.  I am not happy unless I’m learning something.  The photography is really expensive with the equipment.  The knitting is what I picked up when I couldn’t afford the thousand dollar lens I wanted.

The name of this blog came from the fact that I’m a new knitter, getting used to learning patterns and reading the symbols and abbreviations.  I’m likely to throw conniptions.  I’m the queen of having a fit.  I have already thrown some legendary ones.  My current project, a pair of socks for my mother, has been winning.  It’s a pair of socks with this pattern and I have literally started it FIVE times.  Two separate yarns when the first one turned out to kind of suck, for this pattern anyway.  I am determined to win with this pattern.  It will not best me.  Right now, the score stands thus: Sock = 5, Me = 0.  I have always liked the underdog though, so watch out. 

I am new to the knitting web blogs, so if you happen to stumble on this post and know a thing or two about knitting blogs, send me a link to your favorites.  I’m always looking for new inspiration.

Oh, and I go by Andrea.

2 Responses to “Is This Thing On?”


  1. May.27.2009 at 3:59 PM

    I can attest to Andrea’s ability to learn to knit! She made me the most beautiful, soft and wooly socks to keep my “I have lung cancer feet” all snuggly and warm!

    She’s the most super sweet person I have come across on the internet and I’m going to be following this blog daily! 🙂

    Much love to you Andrea! You’re an angel!

  2. May.28.2009 at 4:33 AM

    Rock on baby! Rock on!

    I too have a crazy colleague. Sometimes I’m so tired at the end of the day from listening to her bitching that I can’t even do that thing I love. Sigh.

    But we shall prevail gosh darn it! We shall! Crazy is as Crazy does and karma! we love karma!

    I lost the thread of what I was going to say. Don’t matter. I’m glad that you’re here. That is all.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Save Calypso Fund

Please Help me save my dog

Archives

Pick a Day, Any Day

May 2009
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Where It’s At

Shopping Spree!

The Loopy Ewe

Blog Stats

  • 6,668 hits

