02
Oct
09

I Promise, I Really Am a Knitter

So! I swear I still do knit.  I have been a knitting fool!  It’s just that I haven’t had much chance to take pictures of my knitting, but that changed the other night when I found myself bored and waiting for Glee to start.  *cue harmonized a capella singers* Man, if I weren’t already married, I’d be throwing myself at the feet of Mr. Shuster and his pretty crooked smile and curly hair.  Frak me, he’s dreamy. 

As I’ve been watching my shows come back to life with the Fall season kicking in, I’ve made serious progress on my pinwheel blanket for a friend’s baby.  Good thing, because he was born last week.  Knitting like a fiend on this, but it’s slow.  The rows are pushing 500 stitches per, and it takes a good 20 minutes now to finish one.  I have just a little more green to go and then a brown i-cord border, and I can wash it and send it on.  It’s not the prettiest of blankets, but a little baby boy doesn’t need much pretty.  Plus, they didn’t find out the sex, so I needed something neutral.  I love the way the middle turned out.  Looks like a flower.

DSC_0487 by you.

DSC_0482 by you.

This photo is better to show the true colors. 

This next FO is a secret.  I call them Pick Me Ups.  That’s all I can say.  I didn’t love the colors when I tried the first pattern I had in mind for this yarn, Malabrigo in the Carabeño colorway.  Hopefully they’ll be winging their way to the recipient this weekend along with some other goodies and I can rest easy knowing they’ll be used and cared for.

 DSC_0496 by you.

DSC_0497 by you.

 These are the first socks I’ve knit for myself.  I love them.  They’re also Malabrigo yarn in the colorway Velvet Grapes.  I don’t like wearing socks much but the Fall weather has necessitated them, and my feet are happy for them.   Handknit socks are far better than commercial packaged socks. 

DSC_0498 by you. 

DSC_0501 by you.

This next FO I’m extremely proud of.  They’re the Viper Pilots I started in June for my sister, and the color is intensely hard to photograph.  It’s Yarntini Semi Solid Sock yarn in the colorway Strawberry Frenzy.  I loved this pattern so much that I bought more yarn to do a pair for myself.  Mine will be in Dream in Color Smooshy in the Midnight Derby colorway.  Yummy.  But I love the swirls along the sides.  I love the cabled design down the front. I love the ribbed heel and toe with the cabled embellishment.  I love these socks.  My sister may not get them.  Just kidding.  Sort of.  I think I’m kidding.

DSC_0507 by you.

 DSC_0509 by you.

DSC_0510 by you. 

There has also been stash enhancement.  I have gotten more Yarntini.  Lots more Yarntini. 

CaipirinhaDSC_0518 by you.

Lemoncello

DSC_0514 by you.

Summer Sunset

DSC_0492 by you. 

I also received my last Sock Club shipment from Yarntini.  It’s the colorway Concord, a deep rich purple with blue and red undertones and it’s gorgeous.  I’m already itching to roll it up and cast it on, which, if you notice the Summer Sunset one, seems to be a common reaction I have to Yarntini yarn. 

Dream in Color Smooshy, Midnight Derby for my own Viper Pilots

DSC_0512 by you.
I just realized that in this picture, there’s a hair clinging to the yarn, and I keep fighting the urge to reach my hand into it and pluck the hair off. It’s driving me batty.  

I received a package in the mail yesterday from The Loopy Ewe with my latest order, a yarn I thought would work for a scarf for the Red Scarf Fund but it’s not red enough.  The Red Scarf page specifically says no purples and this yarn is way more purple than I expected.  So perhaps I’ll donate it to Norma for prizes, I haven’t yet decided.  I have a cousin who would love it if I were to do it up for her.  Or hell, everything I’ve ever knit has been for someone else.  Maybe I’ll keep it for a change.  Maybe. 

The beauty of the order that came yesterday was that it was my sixth, and frequent shoppers of The Loopy Ewe know what that means.  I’m now officially a Loopy Groupie.  Will Whore for Yarn.  I need to whip up a button for that.  Anyway, the package included an adorable bag, a new sock pattern, some treats that I passed on to my kids, and a free skein of Cherry Tree Hill yarn in Foxy Lady, that has some red in it, among other gorgeous fall type colors that perhaps would look good for the Red Scarf Fun scarf I was going to do.  The wheels, they have been turning.  I didn’t get a chance to get that picture, but I will.  Oh, I will.

The Pinwheel blanket isn’t the only thing on the needles.  I have a pair of socks for my dad coming along nicely.  They’re Whitbys from Knitting on the Road by Nancy Bush.  I love the ease of the pattern, the yarn is springy and soft (Cascade Heritage Solid in Navy) and I think my dad will like them.  I took crappy camera phone pictures and I will burn your retinas with them.  Trust me when I say that they look much better in person than in the pictures.

Dad's whitby 2 by you.

dad's whitby by you. 

Told you the pictures were bad. 

Anyway, I have two more baby blankets to do in the coming months, and plans for one are in the works, and the other one I have the yarn purchased and have cast on.  And that’s about as far as I’ve gotten on it.  For me right now, it seems to be about socks, socks, socks.  For someone who doesn’t like wearing them that much, I’m interested in knitting way too many pairs.  That’s good for the people I know.  More for them, right?

Next up, finish baby blanket 1, get serious about baby blanket 2, and get yarn for baby blanket 3, knit up that delectable Cherry Tree Hill, consider what I’m going to do with some of this yummy yarn, and wait patiently for a preordered yarn from ThreeIrishGirls that I ordered back in July before Sock Summit that I HAD to have.  As if I don’t have enough to do working full time with two kids.  Luckily, football season is ramping back up, which means Sundays are spent on the couch knitting while husband watches men in tight pants (and truthfully, I’m eyeing them up now and then too) beat the crap out of each other.  Ah, Fall.  I’m so happy you’re here.

6 Responses to “I Promise, I Really Am a Knitter”


  1. 1 Jen
    October.2.2009 at 10:06 PM

    I’m so jealous. I would love to learn to knit I just don’t know if I have the time/patients for it. You are doing such a great job! Maybe if I get that one job I told you about I could do it if I worked midnights!

  2. October.3.2009 at 8:13 AM

    The hell? There are sock clubs?

  3. October.3.2009 at 9:53 AM

    Yes, there are sock clubs. They vary in price and what you get, and they tend to sell out fast. A google search isn’t all that helpful in finding them, but a Ravelry search might be. I asked a knitter friend if she knew of some good ones and one of them happened to be signing up at that time. They run about $30 or so a month, and some of them you can sign up for monthly, or in 3 month increments, or whole year increments. All of them have limited availability so they can fill up fast. Some of them you get a pattern, some of them aren’t specific to socks. Some of them are lace or cashmere yarn clubs. Some of them you choose your yarn weight. But most of them, you don’t know what color is coming next. Here are a few that I know of.

    Yarntini (and she just opened a new club, so there still may be sign up spots) Sundara The Plucky Knitter Socks that Rock Rockin’ Sock Club Simply Socks Yarn Company

    Most of those, if you google club in conjunction with the dyer’s name, you’ll get some information. And yes, many of them have international shipping, though I think you should check to see if that means US/Canada or truly worldwide shipping. Hope this helps.

  4. October.3.2009 at 4:18 PM

    Wow. I’ll look into it. Thx.

  5. October.5.2009 at 2:14 PM

    Wow…you could knit circles around me…I don’t even know HOW to knit…

  6. October.5.2009 at 2:58 PM

    I learned mostly from internet videos. It’s fun! There’s a website, http://www.knittinghelp.com that has most of the videos that I learned from, and the stuff that site didn’t have I found on YouTube. You could totally do it, if you were so inclined. Andrea


Comments are currently closed.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

Save Calypso Fund

Please Help me save my dog

Archives

Pick a Day, Any Day

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Where It’s At

Shopping Spree!

The Loopy Ewe

Blog Stats

  • 6,685 hits

