13
Oct
09

Packing the Knitting

We’ve been traveling here lately.  Last weekend we went to Indiana (Jones, as Son would say) for camping, Halloween themed stuff at the campground, and theme-park visiting at Holiday World in Santa Claus, Indiana.  I love this weekend, one we do every year, and while the mud made it a little harder than usual ~ can you say Baby + Mud Puddle = Instant Face Plant ~ it was still a blast and a half.  I do have pictures, but the camera died before I could get them uploaded. 

We’re also gallivanting off again this weekend for a trip we’ve had planned for coming on a year now.  We’re going to Galena, Illinois, an extremely senic and historic town rich in atmosphere and things to do.  Here are some pictures I took last year.

 

It’s like a Hollywood movie set.  In fact, I believe it was the downtown used in Field of Dreams when Kevin Costner’s character found James Earl Jones’ character. 

 

Even the streetlights are awesome.

 

Last year, we were only there for a day, the point of the trip not being Galena but a nearby town.  After seeing what a treasure it is there, we decided to visit again for longer.  So we found a house to rent that is cheaper than a hotel in the area, which will also save us money in that we can make our own food instead of relying on restaurants the entire weekend.  And off we’ll go.

I’m learning that the packing for these trips is challenging.  Preparation to bring a whole family, plus make sure the pets are covered in our absence, is like trying to build the world’s biggest Dominoes maze.  All the pieces have to be just so, done in the right order and executed carefully, or that first push off to make the whole thing fall into place will fail.  I don’t like starting trips off on the fail side of things.  Taints the whole weekend.

However, packing for the kids, while a pain, is doable.  What’s impossible is packing the knitting.  I need car projects because it’ll be 6+ hours in transit.  Socks or scarves are usually good for that, but I have one pair of socks on the needles right now, and while they do have a deadline, I have a greater deadline on 2 baby blankets.  One is nearly done, just needs the miles of i-cord border done.  I got about 1/3 of the way done on it driving home from Indiana yesterday before my brain quivered and threatened to leak out of my nose.  So I switched to the other blanket, the one I just started that I have to complete 36 squares by Thanksgiving.  Luckily it’s done in squares and so is also really portable, except that every row is different, and the pattern isn’t a repeating thing I could memorize.  Unless I memorize 50 different lines.  So that one is kind of a pain but it won’t knit itself.

The trouble is, I want to pack everything I’m working on.  I have a scarf for myself that’s been hibernating for half a year, a pair of socks I want to do for a friend down in the dumps, a pair of socks for my husband, one for each of my kids, and then a sweater I have had the yarn saved for going on a year now, plus the two baby blankets and endless possibilities for scarves and socks in my fairly small stash.  How in the hades does one choose which knitting to pack and which to leave at home?  Because I don’t want to be stuck with something I don’t feel like working on, nor do I want to run out.  But then, there’s a yarn shop on that gorgeous historic street, and I wasn’t a knitter last year when we were there.  But I plan to put a dent in my yarn budget while there this time.  So there are endless possibilities.  It boggles. 

Bag with both husband’s and my clothes: check
Bag for son: check
Bag for baby: check
Bag for baby stuff, i.e. diapers, wipes, sippy cups: check
Bag for knitting, needles, new projects, patterns, list of things to look for at yarn store, possible patterns  in the future, yarn for them, bigger bag, and maybe a 36 hour day: not so check. 

If you’re a knitter who takes things with you when you travel, how do you choose what to take?

7 Responses to “Packing the Knitting”


  1. October.13.2009 at 1:31 PM

    I am no help at all because I pack everything. And I can’t knit in the car, but can knit in airports & while flying. I usually take at least 4 projects: 1 is something simple, 1 is something small & quick, the other 2 are whatever I feel like packing on a whim.

    I’m headed to Peoria for an overnight trip in a couple weeks and I’m already thinking about the knitting I’m taking with me for my evening in the hotel room. After I gorge on Cracker Barrel, of course.

  2. October.16.2009 at 4:43 AM

    I’m pretty boring. I knit one thing at a time (DAMN YOU KIMONO SWEATER I SHALL FINISH YOU SOON) otherwise, I’d never finish anything. I also tend to be the highway driver. But I bring my project along anyway if we’re going to the in-laws coz there’ll be time to work on my little project in the evening.

    So…

    I used to knit on planes, but now, knitting needles are considered DANGEROUS so, unless I want to lose a project, it goes in with my checked backage.

  3. October.16.2009 at 8:37 AM

    According to the Yarn Harlot (Stephanie Pearl-McPhee, author, knitting guru & Sock Summit genius) knitting needles ARE OKAY on planes. At least here in the United States. Maybe France has different security rules. I think they have to be pretty dull, and circulars are better than double points, but they’re all allowed, as far as I know.

  4. October.16.2009 at 9:43 AM

    It may be just international flights rather than domestic flights. There are even signs with knitting needles crossed out in Paris’ CDG airport.

    Bother. Paris – Calgary is a 9 hour flight.

  5. October.17.2009 at 11:26 AM

    One thing about living in the Pacific Northwest, is that there isn’t the same length of history, and number of interesting historic areas to visit.

    Unpacking is way worse than packing for me.

  6. October.20.2009 at 4:48 PM

    I’m no help either…no knitting for me.

    Maybe try like…a knitting backpack.

  7. 7 The Bad Yogi
    October.22.2009 at 11:37 AM

    For airplanes, try crochet.

    Once in Venice, IT returning to the US, they would not let my Addi’s on the plane, as they looked too much like a garotte! But they left the 12″ razor-sharp drill bit I had forgotten in my briefcase. How ’bout that!


Comments are currently closed.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Save Calypso Fund

Please Help me save my dog

Archives

Pick a Day, Any Day

October 2009
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Where It’s At

Shopping Spree!

The Loopy Ewe

Blog Stats

  • 6,710 hits

