02
Nov
09

Recruiting the Masses, One Tweet at a Time

Do you talk about knitting and stuff?

I admitted on Twitter the other day that I have a knitting blog.  My name over there is @ShutterBitch and if you’re inclined to follow, I’m pretty uncensored.  I say whatever comes to mind, so that’s my only warning.  Anyway, someone was looking for links to St. Louis blogs and when I sent mine, she admitted that she’d learned to knit just the previous weekend.  I offered her a couple websites, told her to get on Ravelry for some inspiration, and offered to answer any questions.  Then I realized I’m kinda sporadic a poster over here.  I suppose I should rectify that, prove that I do care about this place, and make it my own. So I took pictures of the stash enhancement.

 

 

 DSC_0719 by you.

Yarntini Semi Solid Sock, Concord Colorway
  
DSC_0722 by you.
Colourmart.com Laceweight 20/80 Angora/Merino, 2300 delicious, delicious yards.
 
DSC_0724 by you.
Cascade Heritage Solids, Navy.
  
DSC_0725 by you.
Cherry Tree Hill, Foxy Lady Colorway
  
There have been small FOs (Finished Objects for the non-knitters)
 
DSC_0730 by you.
 
And some nearly finished items.
 
The Pinwheel Blanket:
DSC_0714 by you.

Sock 1 of Dad’s WhitbysDSC_0737 by you.

And Baby Blanket Square Hell

DSC_0738 by you.

Five down, 20 more to go.

But that laceweight up there is calling my name.  It’s 2300 yards, plenty for two projects, but I’m having a hard time deciding on which to do first.  The two candidates are the Meandering Vines Shawlrav link by you. or the Fountain Pen Shawlrav link by you..  What do you think?  I sort of like the heavier Meandering Vines shawl because I’m not really one to wear traditional triangular shawls.  That one is more scarf-like and also doesn’t appear to be as challenging.  Given that I’ve not knit with lace before, I’m a little skeered by the Fountain Pen Shawl.  However, that’s the one I have needles for, and the Meandering Vines Shawl calls for holding the yarn double.  If I do that then I won’t have enough for the Fountain Pen Shawl and I really want two projects out of the cone.

See the gripping life I lead?  I’m also considering which socks to cast on once the second Whitby is done for my Dad.  My husband needs new wool socks for his work, and what better way to support him (and get him to support my knitting hobby) than to knit him some heavy duty wool socks to keep him warm for when he’s working in a freezer all day?  But boring navy stockinette doesn’t do much for my inner challenge fiend.  So there’s competition for the sock knitting part of my brain.

Wow, it appears that I do have something to say. And that yes, sometimes I do talk about the knitting.

1 Response to “Recruiting the Masses, One Tweet at a Time”


  1. November.3.2009 at 12:44 PM

    Good to find your blog 🙂 I vote for the fountain pen shawl, btw!


Comments are currently closed.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Save Calypso Fund

Please Help me save my dog

Archives

Pick a Day, Any Day

November 2009
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Where It’s At

Shopping Spree!

The Loopy Ewe

Blog Stats

  • 6,685 hits

