05
Jan
10

Territorial

cross posted at My 15 Minutes to Better Fitness

So there’s a treadmill in Workplace’s facility that I consider ‘mine’.  It’s the one I always run on.  The one where I can see the faint reflection of myself in the window across the room – proof that yes, it really is me running.  I wish the machines faced the mirrors so that I could watch my form as I run, not that I know what I’m looking for, but it might help the more I learn.

With the New Year and all the Resolutioners taking advantage of Workplace’s free facilities, I am feeling protective of my treadmill.  Am I a jerk? Probably.  Am I glad to see these people back there trying to reach whatever goals they may have?  You betcha.  For the last two weeks of December, the workout room was a ghost town.  I was the only one back there most of the time, and if I fell off the treadmill or had a heart attack, there was no way I could call for help and be heard.

But not this week.  This week the place is jumping, the bass is pumping, the hearts and feet are thumping and … I’ll stop now because my mind was going somewhere it shouldn’t.  But anyway, it’s not quite crowded, but the solitude isn’t there.  I hate to admit it, but it was kinda nice, just me and my thoughts, my feet pounding, feeling no self-consciousness when an awesome song shuffled by on the iPod and I threw a goat or if I realized how much I jiggle.  It reminded me of that part in that movie What Women Want with Mel Gibson and Helen Hunt when Gibson’s character wins the advertising account for Nike Women’s Division by making a commercial talking about the relationship with the road — “You don’t stand in front of a mirror before a run wondering what the road will think of your outfit. You don’t have to listen to its jokes and pretend they’re funny in order to run on it. It would not be easier to run if you dressed sexier. The road doesn’t notice if you’re not wearing lipstick.  Does not care how old you are.  You do not feel uncomfortable because you make more money than the road.  And you can call on the road whenever you feel like it, whether it’s been a day… or even a couple of  hours since your last date.  The only thing the road cares about is that you pay it a visit once in awhile.”  Such has been my relationship with the treadmill.  It doesn’t groan under my weight the way I would if 200+ pounds jumped on me.  It doesn’t mock me.  It doesn’t say hurtful things.  And so I have come to trust it to carry me through my workout.  I am a little hardpressed to share that with anyone.  I’ve developed a relationship with my treadmill.

However, these people back there now are people I know already, people with whom I work, people I mostly like.  They are people with whom I can connect over the fitness we are all trying to achieve.  They are another potential community I could get used to and come to respect and discuss goals with.  I don’t want to get too attached right now because of the nature of Resolutioners and their penchant for petering out after a few weeks.  But maybe some of them will stick.  Maybe one of them in the group would be someone who won’t care if I have lipstick on or if I look better than they do and I can let go of this unhealthy thing I have for my treadmill.

Workout Summary Dec 28-Jan 3:
ran 3.14 miles
calories burned 704
pace 15:83 minute mile.
pounds lost 2

3 Responses to “Territorial”


  1. January.6.2010 at 1:06 PM

    give it a week or two, and they’ll be gone. And I totally get it, by the way. It’s not even that these people are taking your treadmill, it’s that they will probably give up soon, so don’t even care, but are invading your space and well-earned goods. It’s not unhealthy, I think. It means you’ve found your comfort level for running, right?

    And I like being near the mirrors too. I always feel like kermit the frog when I run, and it’s satisfying to look in the mirrors and see that I look more like an actual runner than a puppet. Actually, the fact that I think I look like I know what I’m doing keeps me running sometimes, instead of quitting early.

  2. January.6.2010 at 9:11 PM

    I gotta say, I dread every January when the resolution people start crowding the gym and not wiping down the machines. Luckily, I go to a fitness center at a community center and they have already slowed down. It’s the grossness of it all. Plus, I have a hard time waiting patiently when the person on the machine I am waiting for is wearing dockers and a polo shirt while they are hogging the machine. Oh! (sorry this is really burning my butt lately) And the girl who was on the elliptical for I am not kidding you, 1.5 hours, going so fast she was literally hugging the control panel… never saw her back. Think she burnt out?!

  3. January.8.2010 at 9:07 AM

    That’s exactly it! I like to know I don’t look like an epileptic monkey trying to impersonate a runner and when I can see that no, I really do look fine and actually look like I know what I’m doing it does keep me going. It’s proof that no, I’m not lying to myself.


Comments are currently closed.

Follow Me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Save Calypso Fund

Please Help me save my dog

Archives

Pick a Day, Any Day

January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Where It’s At

Shopping Spree!

The Loopy Ewe

Blog Stats

  • 6,730 hits

